Make Hay While The Sun Shines

My life is good at the moment in fact it has been good for a while now but I know this will change; it’s not IF this will change but WHEN. I’m not fatalistic I’m realistic.

I am enjoying my ‘up’ time immensely. Jean and I have done a lot together recently. We’ve been to Brighton and Berlin, the Pro 12 Final in the Aviva and Dáil Eireann over the past few months and being honest I couldn’t have done them without her.

We both know that MS can rear its ugly head at any moment and without notice.

I have undertaken a personal project at home; we moved in here 2 ½ years ago and it is only recently that I felt physically able and motivated to clear out the shed, to prepare my ‘Man Cave’. Even though the shed is not big the clean out has taken a few weeks, which in MS time isn’t that long, but it isn’t quite finished yet. A run to the dump and another few hours will see it complete. An old farming adage is my guiding tenet at the moment; “make hay while the sun shines” and when translated into ‘MS Speak” it simply means “do it today because you may not be able to do it tomorrow”.

We both know that ‘tomorrow’ will come maybe not exactly tomorrow but someday.

There was a slight dip recently when the uninvited and unwelcome Mr Unthoff came to visit but thankfully he didn’t stay long. The weather over the past few days was not officially a heat wave more like a ripple but it took a lot out of me.

My Multiple Sclerosis (MS) seems to have taken a back seat for the moment and hopefully will stay back there for a long time. MS has been part of my life for more than 29 years and has left its marks and scars where they can’t be seen, except with an MRI scanner. Those marks and scars have placed limitations on my life but I have learned to live with them. MS has not gone away; it never will. It is just waiting in the shadows for the opportunity to pounce and re-impose old restrictions and maybe introduce a few new ones.

Life is good. Of course good is relative and I still have pains and aches in various parts and I am less able than I was a few years ago but I have learned to work within my limitations. My ‘time window’ for getting ‘stuff’ done is short and any effort to extend the time will be met with staunch resistance. MS is unpredictable and I celebrate the good times and every achievement and live in the here and now. Change will come but I will deal with it then.

This blog is not about boasting about how good I feel at the moment when I know of so many other People with Multiple Sclerosis (PwMS) whose disease course has been much more turbulent and destructive than mine. It is just to say appreciate the better times when they arrive and deal with the less good ones when they follow. “One day at a time”.

I know that when this good period is over, which I hope will not be any time soon, I will be less able; so I say Carpe Diem and MAKE HAY WHILE THE SUN SHINES.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Make Hay While The Sun Shines

  1. So very well written, Declan. I’m glad you have better times, I keep a steady downhill climb. Here’s to an empty and then transformed shed/cave!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Use the 'Search' bar to find more on a location

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Love your life more than your pain

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

