Cork University Hospital

I was an inpatient in Cork University Hospital (CUH) for a week in August 2016. I recovered fully thanks to the excellent medical care received. This post is as a result of the poor facilities in the bathroom attached to the ward in which I was resident. It is a critique on bad planning and design and poor feedback. I wrote to the relevant authorities on August 22nd detailing my concerns and received a prompt reply informing me that the matter would be investigated and I would receive written details of the investigation early in October.

As I write this, on December 4th, I have not received the promised written details of the investigation despite writing again in November. I have received a number of telephone calls, which were actually return calls, detailing what action is proposed and promises of the letter. The proposed action is what concerns me and what finally prompted me to pen this post.

The photographs below describe my concerns;

the emergency call button at the toilet section was approximately 4 feet off the floor and there was no drop rail; there was no emergency pull cord in the shower area nor were there any vertical grab rails; the mirror is wrongly placed to facilitate shaving while sitting in a wheelchair. I have been told that when the refurbishment is complete the emergency button is to remain in the same location which is absolutely ridiculous. There was also a discussion as to where a cord/button could be placed; near the bowl or the sink? Falls can happen anywhere and the alarms should be in the most likely places.

Below are a number of areas with emergency alarms close to the ground and also at a higher level. It can be done. Where there is a will there is a way and patient safety should be of paramount importance.

Design and safety is not a new and should require little discussion particularly in a large organisation with numerous examples but it may be a good idea to ask service users for an opinion, dare I say advice.

What do you think?

 

Categories: Cork | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Cork University Hospital

  1. Pingback: I’ve thrown in the towel, finally. | Accessibility Matters

  2. I do not understand why, when these places are being built, they don’t ask the experts…not architects or government, but the people who use/need them. And to not listen to your feedback and suggestions is insensitive and bad customer service!

    • Declan Groeger

      I have told them that I am unhappy with their response and it is going to be investigated further

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Potholed brain, kickass mind!

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

