A night out and the morning after

I’m not sure why I wrote this but it was weird this morning, not freaky, just different and since I haven’t posted a lot recently I decided that this would be a reintroduction of myself. I wanted to share some of WWW.MS.DG (Weird Wonderful World. Multiple Sclerosis. Declan Groeger)

My internal clock has 07.00 indelibly etched after a number of years taking a pill at that time every morning, a time of my choosing, and which must be repeated around 12 hours later. It really is not a hardship as I have my best hours in the morning; my energy levels slip a bit in the afternoons and evenings. Sometimes, like this morning I want a lie-in but my internal clock insists on telling me it is 7 o’clock and time to get moving.

You see last night we went for a meal and a movie with 2 of my brothers and their wives; Martin & Mary, Kerrie & Bríd and Jean & Declan. Let me set the scene; the movie was produced by my nephew Fionn and it was being shown at the Indie Cork Film Festival so it was a must see for us and a yellow rain warning was in operation for Cork. We arranged to meet in Luigi Malones for a bite to eat before the show. It was raining pretty heavily by the time we parked the car and we got our first wetting getting from the car to the restaurant. The food was up to Luigi Malones usual high standard but the accessible toilet was a major let down. It is tired looking but it is roomy and functional. It really needs a makeover. Our second wetting came while returning to the car and our third and final wetting came while we were moving from the car to the cinema by which time the rain was absolutely torrential. The film “Twice Shy” was directed by Tom Ryan and produced by Fionn Greger; it is topical and well worth watching if you get the chance. The rain had stopped by the time the film was over and it was well past my regular bedtime by the time we got home. The Gate cinema is wheelchair accessible with an elevator to the upper floors with 3 designated parking spaces adjacent.

I, and others living with MS, find that having a regular bedtime helps in getting a good night’s sleep and since I was late going to bed I decided to have lie-in in the morning. My alarm shrilled at about 07.00 and I turned over and took the pill and rolled back again. I slept but not a deep sleep and at 08.30 I was lying there thinking that I should get up, I will get up, I must get up, I want to get up. I wiggled my toes and did a mental check that everything was working and when I discovered that everything was fine I said I must get up, I should get up, I can get up but I didn’t get up and I don’t know why; I just lay there thinking about getting up but refused to act. This was MS brain at work. I wasn’t tired or cold, I was warm and rested but I just lay there and then at 08.45, without any warning my legs swung out of the bed and I found myself standing upright and ready to take on the world.

Is there a point to this story? Not really. I’m just saying that after a not very late night my head was in a different place when I awoke. I am now back to being supercalifragilisticexpialidicious sitting inside with beautiful sunlight shining in the window writing this.

Please don’t stop asking me to partake in different events. I may not be able to do them all but please let it be my decision. Borrowing Spoons has never been a problem for me and once I keep the number low pay back is not too difficult.

Categories: Cork, Just thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A night out and the morning after

  1. I’m guilty of the occasional “lie in” (I love this expression…we refer to it as sleeping in, even when we’re not really sleeping.) For me it’s not due to late night partying, rather growing older. I do my best contemplating about life in the morning. Cheers!

  2. Declan Groeger

    Thanks for reading and commenting

  3. Sean Murphy.

    As always great read. Thanks Declan, Sean.

  4. Tim

    Great stuff Declan

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

