New Year Resolution

My mum used to say “Never stand when you can sit and never sit when you can lie down”. This sounded like good advice at the time and after my MS diagnosis I adhered to it with an almost religious fervour. I would sit at every opportunity despite the fact that some, uninformed, people thought me lazy.

Short cuts do not pay in matters of health and in fact they can be hugely detrimental. I learned how to do more whilst sitting and thus do less whilst standing and this has resulted in a deterioration in my ability to stand and remember that if you can’t stand you can’t walk. Functions are lost much faster than they can be regained.

Where am I going with this?

Well my walking ability has worsened over the last number of years due to MS but also due to my ability to take shortcuts whenever the opportunity arose. I started to rely more on my wheelchair and remember that awful slippery slope; at first you think you can’t so you don’t and very soon you really can’t. “Never stand when you can sit…”

My New Year Resolution “Stand more, do more standing and walk more.” We are now 2 weeks into 2016 and I am proud to say that I am still plugging away at my NYR and even more delighted to say that it is working. Slowly, ever so slowly!

I have substituted my wheelchair with a new easy managed ‘walker’ for short outings and am delighted with the results. I have used the walker 4 times in the last few days and whilst my legs are more tired the feeling of achievement is immeasurable.

There is an old African proverb that goes like this – “Despise not a snail for its slow and struggling movement; it has a destination and with time it shall arrive.”

A word of caution – MS is a very individual disease and what works for one may not work for another. My recipe may not work for you so be careful and recognise your own limitations.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “New Year Resolution

  1. Well done on your progress – my mom also used that quote – never stand if you can sit – never sit if you can lay down – that is what first caught my eye on this post x

  2. As always, great advice. Glad to hear it’s paying off for you; stay strong & confident!

  3. It is challenging not to sit, especially when I feel tired, and you are so right, if you don’t use it, you lose it. I started back to the gym, for walking and mobility of all my body parts, it hurts, but also feels good. Glad to hear of your progress!

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks Sarah. Yes it hurts but feels good. I hope you feel your own benefits. No pain, no gain! But as little paln as possible please

  4. I’m glad to hear of your progress 🙂 I, too, have been trying to walk more – a combination of tortoise and zombie! 😉 – going for mini walks. I acquired a much better walking stick with ergonomic handle as the other gave me a sore wrist. 🐢

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks for the reply. I’m not strong enough for a stick yet but I hope to get to that stage some day – slowly, ever so slowly

  5. Congrats on your progress. I hope it continues!

  6. Well done Declan!

  7. I am glad to hear that you are improving your standing/moving capacities , and thank you for the African proverb (snail/turtle basically the same 😉 )
    Turtle Hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Potholed brain, kickass mind!

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

