Multiple Sclerosis and Serendipity

The Oxford dictionaries define serendipity as “The occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way”. It is difficult, at first, to use the words happy, beneficial and Multiple Sclerosis in the same breath

MS is not good, it is not nice but in spite of this good things can come from it. I was diagnosed in 1988 and I will never know what path my life would have taken without MS so there is no point in dwelling on it. I can only play the hand of cards I was dealt and let’s be honest it’s not a great hand and unfortunately there will be no re-deal.

There are a number of things I am grateful to MS for bringing into my life;

I would never have known how strong Jean, Elaine and Mairéad are.

I would never have known how strong my brothers and sisters and their families are.

I would never have known my friends and fellow bloggers on the MS & Me blog team.

I would never have known other bloggers around the world who can empathise with my blogs and understand where I am on a particular day.

I would never have known the wonderful people in MS Ireland. These wonderful and passionate people are indicative of the vast army of professionals and volunteers who populate the voluntary sector around the world.

I would never have known how fantastic total strangers can be to a fellow human when they see them struggling.

I would never have known so many other People Living with MS (PwMS) who have their own way of contributing to society and living as good a life as possible.

I will stop now and finish with a line that I have used before and will use again. I am strong in spite of MS not because of it.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Multiple Sclerosis and Serendipity

  1. I love your attitude, Declan! I’m blessed to be following your blog.

  2. Excellent! Way to think positive. you have both recognized and influenced others. This is why I’m your fan- you’re honest but also maintain perspective.

  3. Beautifully written! I share the same sentiment. If I didn’t have to battle the MonSter everyday, I wouldn’t be me and have my life. I like my life (minus the MS, of course) and I like where I am. Kudos to you for being strong in spite of MS! That’s a great quote BTW and I might have to steal it. 😉

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks for commenting and you are very welcome to steal it. I probably saw it somewhere else

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

jamiefoxblog

Ramblings of a ill man

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

The king'soracle.

Where the word of the king is, there is power...

The Dragons Kitchen

Where food and heritage meet, mix and combine

