Honesty is the best policy.

pinocchio-lying-19656529

Honesty is the best policy, at least in health matters

My mum and dad always espoused the notion that honesty was the best policy, regardless of the consequences. I sort of agree. I mean it is probably best to be honest but there are times in our lives when being less than honest and forthright is not so bad. It is not so much about telling an untruth but not telling the whole truth. It may be about being economical with the truth.

In matters of health and wellbeing there can be no half measures, no ‘being economical’ with the truth; health and wellbeing require telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Being less than truthful will always end in tears; you are more likely to suffer in the long run as will your family and friends.

If the doctor does not get the full story he/she will find it more difficult, and take longer, to arrive at a diagnosis. No matter how difficult it is to talk about a particular issue it must be done. Failure to disclose may lead to failure to diagnose and failure to treat.

In the matter of general wellbeing it is no different; honesty is the best policy. You are only fooling no one but yourself if you are not honest with yourself. There is nothing to be gained by hiding the truth from yourself or from friends and family. It is good to talk; a problem shared is a problem halved.

For those of us with a chronic illness honesty takes on a new importance. There are a number of symptom trackers available now that make it easier to spot the peaks and the troughs and to enable you to give an accurate report to your neurologist but these trackers are useless without self-honesty. This is a link to Sym Trac and I have heard good reports although I have never used it

I like to think that I am totally honest with myself, most of the time. I keep my own log and I keep track of what I do and don’t do and I am able to compare day by day. There are times when I have to remind myself that not all issues are MS related and my tracking system helps me to keep that in mind.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Honesty is the best policy.

  1. Eleni Politi

    Υes truth matters! How much is enough? How many can afford the whole of it? Who knows the ending of every diagnosis? (especially ms can be really unpredicted). Science has proved that conditions can be reversible. There is no point to be totally honest … Every case is unique and sensitive …needs special …treatment! !!!!

    ps .not all relate with ms .This is why not all my friends know about my diagnosis. I m trying to keep some space …ms free! !!(ha ha)

    Thank you D.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Potholed brain, kickass mind!

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

