Writing 101 #18

“You have Multiple Sclerosis (MS)” said the doctor, as he sat with his fingers steepled under his chin at the opposite side of a grey, impersonal, metal desk. This bombshell was dropped on me after four days of extensive tests. The four days had crawled past so slowly that it seemed time had stood still. The longer I remained in hospital my position seemed to become more precarious.

“You have MS” said the doctor and my world crumbled. The year was 1988 and he told me that there was no cause, no cure and no treatment. I was on my own.

“You have MS” said the doctor and I knew that I had a really difficult job on the horizon; I had to tell my wife what the doctor had said. She had anticipated the diagnosis and was somewhat prepared. We hugged and we cried and we hugged and we cried and railed against God and the world for a number of days and then like a sail ship without wind we were becalmed. Shortly after that our wind rose again, we left the doldrums and resumed forward motion. Life goes on.

“You have MS said the doctor” and I looked at him with horror and terror in equal amounts etched on my face. It was just another day at the office for him. He hadn’t tried to ‘gild the lily’ to soften the blow. The sentence was delivered in a cold manner of fact way with little or no regard for the recipient, me.

“You have MS” said the doctor and I knew that my family and friends would be devastated but they had to be told. I knew some of them would be stoic in their acceptance of my news and others would not. I was correct

“You have MS” said the doctor and I knew my life would never be the same. It had changed irrevocably and I would have to get comfortable with a new ‘normality’. I would have to get used to the restrictions that MS would place on me but at that time I did not know what form those restriction would take. I was facing into the great unknown, facing a journey that had no roads or even informal pathways.

“You have MS” said the doctor and I thought I was on my own to navigate this tortuous journey. I was wrong, so wrong. My family, both immediate and extended, rallied to my side. They surrounded me with love and understanding. They did not force their attentions or help upon me but I knew that they were there for me whenever I would allow them into my world.

Blogging has been the key that opened the door to my MS world and I am grateful that I discovered blogging. It has opened a new world for me and if my experiences can help one other person I will claim that as a positive result.

I am strong in spite of MS not because of it.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Writing 101 #18

  1. So glad to know that you haven’t allowed this diagnosis to limit your ability to enjoy life and help people. Your positive attitude inspires others facing out of control forces in their lives. Thanks for leading in the best way; by example.

  2. Great piece Declan. Really good read

  3. Powerful sharing, Declan! I know your experience will continue to inspire so many of us who might be experiencing hurdles to overcome and mountains to climb.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

******************************* BBH - BOOBS BOOTS & HAIR **************************** Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

