Blogging 101 #11

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “RSVP.”

The Ultimate Celebration

This celebration is not a celebration of one person but of a group. I know that the prompt specifically states one person but prompts are flexible and I decided to flex mine.

Why do I want to celebrate this group? It is quite simple really and Tina Turner put it beautifully when she sang “simply the best, better than all the rest”. This group deserves every plaudit that is available and the celebration must be absolutely spectacular and unforgettable. It is my way of saying thanks, a genuine and heartfelt thank you.

Where would I have this party? I would hold it in Puerto De La Duquesa, Spain. It has many happy memories for me and some members of the group. We would have to select a time of year when it’s not too hot but the sun would be shining and not a cloud in the beautiful blue sky.

What would be served? There is such a variety of restaurants in the port it would be difficult to select one. I would organise a buffet with a selection from all of them, down by the pool, with local beverages. Picture this – tables scattered around the pool area laden with Spanish, Italian, Mexican, Chinese and Indian food. More tables with a variety of drinks some con-alcohol and some sin-alcohol. To complete the scene there would be a mariachi band playing under the pergola.

I hope we would have a nice leisurely, yet hectic, afternoon/evening during which stories would be exchanged and old memories revisited. We would reminisce on group members no longer with us but were once an integral part of the group.

Who are the members of this group? These are the people who stood by me through good times and bad. They were there when I needed them? They never forced themselves but I knew that they were always there. This group is so large that it would take forever to name them all but in the ‘Command Team’ is my wife Jean and our two daughters Elaine and Mairéad. All my brothers and sisters and their spouses played a major role as did their families and of course in later years my two sons-in-law.

This is my tribute to the team, the whole team and nothing but the team that has helped me through 27 years of living with MS. My team was there 24/7 but more than that the team supported the ‘Command Team’ in ways that I can only imagine.

Duquesa

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101 #11

  1. I am always inspired when I hear of people meeting the world head on in spite of the health challenges they face.

    Spain is on my wish list of places to visit. I would love to hear why Puerto De La Duquesa is a destination not to be missed.

    • Declan Groeger

      Duquesa is my second home. Just normal easy going life. Restaurants, bars, beach and pools. Check out my blog under Category Spain for pictures and comments.

  2. Beautifully done.
    Turtle Hugs

  3. Hello Declan 🙂

    This is a beautiful post. Our happiness becomes multiplied when shared. Kudos to you! This post is beautiful and so are the pictures!

    Have a great week ahead 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

******************************* BBH - BOOBS BOOTS & HAIR **************************** Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

