An open letter to me. Writing 101 #8

Dear me

It is a very long time since I wrote a letter or even attempted to write one. I prefer the telephone or person-to-person.

It’s time that you and I had a heart-to-heart, face-to-face chat. I know that these things take time to set up in the busy environment in which we live. I would like you to consider this letter as a preliminary agenda (of sorts) pending your reply.

You annoy me at times. This is a simple statement of fact and the opposite is probably also true. What annoys me most? Your persistent positivity, you always seem to be fine, to be good, the glass always half full. You never let anything get you down. You always look on the bright side of everything. You see positives where there are none, no matter how bleak the circumstances. Why can’t you be more normal or at least make an effort to be. Why not let things get on top of you sometimes, scream, shout, pull your hair out, rant at God and the universe. Why do you see the good in everything? You have become boring in your predictability.

I know that MS has taken a large portion of your life and that you two get along together; you have an uneasy détente. I am afraid for you, for what MS will do to you. I don’t want MS to come between us but I know that it already has and it will intrude further in our lives. MS is a vandal that ultimately destroys everything it touches and you are no different; it is trying to destroy you and I am afraid, very afraid.

Please meet with me soonest

Yours respectfully

Declan

Please comment or leave a private message through the contact form

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “An open letter to me. Writing 101 #8

  1. Ouch! Difficult reading. Painfully honest. Fwiw, I don’t think your positivity is some kind of denial… more like the realisation that you don’t know what tomorrow will bring so you may as well make the most of the now.

  2. Eleni Politi

    Dear Declan!

    I think this should be the most important issue in “Accessibility Matters” !

    The road to access …your own self! To be really honest and have an inner dialogue. To support him and love him , be tender with him as if he /you are your best friend. Because finally he is the one who will never betray you or stab you in the back.

    These are thoughts that crosses every mser mind. Nevertheless we appreciate when someone else is pointing out that we all are one. Your accessibility to our self issues is unique.

    I heard this quote yesterday.:

    Your life is not about you! Is about how you will touch other people’s lives during your living time.

    Thank you.

    p.s. JUST

    BE YOUR FRIEND!

    • Declan Groeger

      Thank you for your thought Eleni. Your suggestion sounds ‘very deep and meaningful’ for me and I’m not if I have that much depth at the moment. I will keep it in mind. Thanks again

  3. This was so inspiring to read! Your tough Irish spirit shines through! I look forward to being inspired by your blog. 🙂

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks for taking the time to comment Mary Lou. I like to think that some of my ramblings have an impact but most of the post on ‘just thoughts’ are kind of personal or quirky ramblings. Hope to see more of you.

  4. Very powerful.

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks for taking the time to read and I am so pleased that you like it

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

******************************* BBH - BOOBS BOOTS & HAIR **************************** Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

