Writing 101 #3

I chose REGRET as my one word for this post.

We all have regrets; some regrets are about things that we did and how we did them and if we could turn back the clock how we would do them now. Obviously hindsight is a great educator and things would certainly be different the second time around.

I am no different; I have many regrets about things I have done and the way I did them but my greatest regrets are about things that I have not done and will never get the chance. I’m not talking about climbing Mount Everest or running a marathon, no siree those things were never on my radar.

If I was to pick one single regret what would it be? What have I not done that I should have when I was more able? I don’t mean a pipedream, like I wish I was a successful businessman but something tangible.

I used to sea fish from a boat when I was younger. It was a peculiar pastime for me because I would often be seasick for the first hour on the water and then I’d be fine. I’d fish for a few hours and then return home tired but happy.  I never got around to going out in deep water to catch something large and exotic; maybe a nice marlin or a shark.

Is this something that upsets me or causes me to lose sleep? The short answer is no. I think I would have liked it but definitely not if my story by the fireside was to be about the one that got away.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Writing 101 #3

  1. We lived on the central coast of California for awhile. Before we went on that whale watching tour, a crew member asked me if I had ever gotten seasick. No! I stated, almost insulted that he would question my fortitude to handle the trip…after all, I had been out on a boat on Lake Michigan at least a few times and had no problem. Off we went out of the bay and across the OCEAN, where waves are much bigger than those of a lake. I spent most of that trip with my head over the edge of the boat. I did see whales, very close.
    That was cool.
    My point is that you may not have weathered the ocean any better than I did. Perhaps common sense kept you from doing what you later would view as a regret. It makes a good story though. this is a good prompt to get me thinking, but on my list might be going out on the ocean. 😊

  2. Declan Groeger

    Thanks Eleni.

  3. Eleni Politi

    That is beautiful. No regrets as you concluded! Although. .. when I make my own flash back… if only… I had more wisdom .

    To be wise enough not to spend my time to persons who didn’t worth it. To be wise enough to follow my intuition when appeared. To be more spontaneous and preserve some good friendships That I lost by the lack of time . To keep some time for my personal evolution.

    Yeah !!!! These are my regrets. .

    Thank you for this self evaluation thinking Declan.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

jamiefoxblog

Ramblings of a ill man

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

The king'soracle.

Where the word of the king is, there is power...

The Dragons Kitchen

Where food and heritage meet, mix and combine

