Credit where credit is due

I am the middle child of nine children born to Ambrose & Margaret Groeger in 1957. They have both passed on to their eternal reward but they were truly amazing parents. As a family we were not wealthy on the scale of wealth today but we were not poor either. Mum and Dad gave us what money cannot buy. They imbued us with a set of values, a sense of family and a sense of belonging but most of all they loved us and we knew it. They gave each of us an education and never forced a particular career path but encouraged each and every one of us to follow our dreams. Mum and Dad firmly believed in the old Irish Proverb; “Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí” –praise the youth and she will come.

Ambrose & Margaret Groeger

Ambrose & Margaret Groeger

Where am I going with this tribute to Mum and Dad? It is thanks to them that I have such a fantastic family, both immediate and extended. How did Mum and Dad influence my extended family? The set of values they gave all of us influenced our choice of life partner. We were born and raised in Cork City but now there are only two of us boys left in the city with a third brother in the county. The rest of the family are spread around with the majority now based in Dublin with one in Australia and another in England. Despite the geographical spread we have managed to stay in touch.

The Groeger Siblings

The Groeger Siblings

It is difficult to say how important a good support network is for someone with an incurable neurodegenerative disease; but believe me when I say it is. It doesn’t mean that everybody rings or calls every day, or even every week, to see how I am doing. They are there at the end of a phone or on Skype if I need them for a kind word, a word of support or a metaphorical hug. I know they are there for me but of more importance they are there for Jean and Elaine and Mairéad. Those three ladies are the most important people in my life and my first line of support. I know that there will be times when they will need support but I know that my brothers and sisters will be there for them because that is who we are thanks to Mum and Dad and the way they reared us. Family is Number 1 and always will be.

The Delaney Park Crew

The Delaney Park Crew

The next generation has taken its place in the world. Elaine and Mairéad are both married now and their husbands are their primary supports but I have a total of 22 nieces and nephews and I know that should the need arise they will be there for the girls.

Nieces & Nephews

Nieces & Nephews

Categories: Just thoughts | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Credit where credit is due

  1. I’m a middle child too, Declan! …. of 5 siblings in a family very similar to yours. I wrote about our sibling reunion recently. This is a great post!
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/2016/06/17/me-in-the-middle-of-a-sibling-reunion/

    • Declan Groeger

      Thanks Mary Lou. Not so many big or even medium size families anymore

      • I have 5 sons and one of my sons has 4 children (out of my 8 grandchildren) 🙂

  2. Such a wonderful post about the value of family – so glad for you that you have them!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

jamiefoxblog

Ramblings of a ill man

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

The king'soracle.

Where the word of the king is, there is power...

The Dragons Kitchen

Where food and heritage meet, mix and combine

