The Benevolent Thief

robber

What a novel idea, a benevolent thief! Is there such a thing as a benevolent thief? The short answer is yes there is but not a thief in the ordinary sense of the word and benevolent is probably not the right word either. A thief takes that to which he has no right. That he gives something else in return does not lessen the pain of the loss for what he has taken.

This blog post is not about any ordinary thief but a superlative and indiscriminate thief that comes to us in the guise of Multiple Sclerosis. He attacks quietly and for the early attacks we are not even sure that we have been attacked. Initially we do not know what has been stolen from us. We do not realise that something has been taken and something else has been given. The attacks are on indiscriminate targets and are of indeterminate duration and the damage caused varies from individual to individual. It is a lot more like vandalism. Vandalism has neither rhyme nor reason but neither has MS.

Let’s look at the individual words; one meaning of benevolent is ‘giving’ and one meaning of thief is simply a ‘robber’ and both those words should be mutually exclusive. A thief is a person who takes property that he does not own and a benevolent person is one who gives without preconditions. What does this have to do with Multiple Sclerosis you might ask?

Multiple Sclerosis is a thief, plain and simple a thief. For the most part MS takes and takes and takes and leaves us with less each time he strikes. He sneaks up on us, makes an attack and sometimes retreats while waiting for his next attack. Some of the attacks are short smash and grab raids. In and out quickly and we’re left reeling from the attack and wondering when he will leave and then wonder when, if ever, he will return for more. But for all that MS has a benevolent or giving side that takes time to notice. Sometimes it is difficult to spot what he has left behind, what he has brought to the party. David Osmond recently said “…it’s also one of the best things that’s happened to me because it’s given me a new perspective on life.”

MS has stolen the strength from my legs and my balance but you know what he has made me a better person, I think. MS has made me more appreciative of all of the good things in my life, my wife and family and friends. MS has made me more tolerant and forgiving. MS attacks all of us differently and with varying degrees of severity and I feel selfish when even thinking that I am grateful that it hasn’t attacked me with the severity that it has attacked others.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Benevolent Thief

  1. Eleni Politi

    MS has made me all the things you said too . Also more willing to live a real life and appreciate the moment. In a way I wasn’t li ving before. I don’t mean of course that I m grateful and I enjoyed ms diagnosis but it has surely woke me up to be a more conscious human being. Pain can trigger serious thoughts and make you see things differently.

    Thank you for reminding me this D. I much Appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

jamiefoxblog

Ramblings of a ill man

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

The king'soracle.

Where the word of the king is, there is power...

The Dragons Kitchen

Where food and heritage meet, mix and combine

