The Killarney Adventure Race

I was in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney last Friday evening when my daughter Elaine was registering for the KAR. I rolled my wheelchair into the convention centre and approached a young lady member of the registration team. She looked totally surprised when I asked where the wheelchair registration section was. I think that it took about 5 seconds to realise that I couldn’t possibly be serious but those 5 seconds were absolutely priceless. I was really sorry that I did not have a candid camera to record the event.

I decided to pay more attention to the race and see was there any way that a wheelchair athlete, or a mobility impaired athlete, could take part and quite quickly realised that if it was possible it certainly would not be possible for me. Wheelchair athletes are incredible people and I have the utmost admiration for them. They take part in major sporting events such as the Olympics and other great sporting events and always acquit themselves with honour. To my way of thinking wheelchair/disabled athletes could only take part as a relay team

Here is my team:

Mark Rohan – Hand Cycling

Par O’Leary – Kayak (Well really canoe but I’m sure he could adapt)

Running – Oscar Pistorious

Here is the race from my viewpoint. If I were a participant.

It started with a cycle.

The cycle start

The cycle start

Tough going for me as I have difficulty getting on the exercise bike in the gym and then maintaining speed would also be problematic. Maybe the organisers would allow me an electric bike with stabilisers – balance issues would necessitate the stabilisers. The next section involved a short(ish) run before a kayak event on the Lakes of Killarney. Instead of running I could wheel myself to the kayak loading bay but I would have difficulty getting into the kayak and the only way out would be to capsize it. Then the reverse run from the kayak staging area over to Torc and it really begins to unravel for me. It has been said that a picture paints a thousand words well these pictures speak volumes.

The Cardiac Steps

The Cardiac Steps

The Cardiac Steps

The Cardiac Steps

In any event if a mobility impaired athlete were to succeed in reaching the top of the ‘Cardiac Steps’ the descent would undoubtedly be easy as it is all downhill. This is where Oscar Pistorious comes into the team as he would surely bounce up and down the steps. The next stage involves another cycle back to the Gleneagle hotel; park your bike and run, walk or crawl a short distance, then climb 5.5m up a scaffold, cross over the road and back down the other side and then another run/walk/crawl to the actual finish line.

The finishing steps

The finishing steps

To finish off this blog post Elaine finished it in 3 hours and 51 minutes and in the process raised money for MS Ireland. I was never sporty so at this hour of my life I’m not about to start.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The Killarney Adventure Race

  1. Good pictures! The more I cannot do, the more I’m amazed at what others can do.

    • Declan Groeger

      I am so in awe of these people. Your comment is absolutely perfect

  2. You’re an evil genius Declan!! Would have loved to see her face 🙂 well done to Elaine

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

Mick, Jane and Me

Living Well With MS

jamiefoxblog

Ramblings of a ill man

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

Little Lord Oscar Dandelion Books

The king'soracle.

Where the word of the king is, there is power...

The Dragons Kitchen

Where food and heritage meet, mix and combine

