The gym, a necessary evil

Why do I go to the gym? Or to rephrase it and drop a word ‘why I go to the gym’. Jean and I went to the gym last Monday morning and after signing in Jonney said “Enjoy” to which I replied “Gym and enjoy are two words that do not rest easily together in my opinion. The gym is a necessary evil” This put a train of thought going in my befuddled brain and caused me to question the meaning of life or more importantly the meaning of the gym. I try to get to the gym 2 or 3 times a week and I usually manage about 20 to 40 minutes per session. I am not your typical ‘Muscle Mary’. I am not training for a marathon or even a mini-marathon. My goal is easily identified it is to stay as good as possible for as long as possible. I have another less publicised goal and when I achieve it later on in the summer I will let you all know.

I am fighting a battle that I cannot possibly win. It is a battle that was lost the day it started but I refuse to sign the surrender documents. There is a stubborn streak running through the Groeger/Crowley genes and it refuses to yield even to overwhelming forces.

The gym is not only about keeping ‘fit’. There is much more to it than work outs and fitness. It gets me out of the house for a while and there is social interaction. I have met many lovely people over the years in the gym and they are all helpful and supportive. It is important to concentrate on what you can do and not dwell on what you can’t do. I recently told a fellow blogger that I never regretted getting a wheelchair and I meant it. It reopened my world, a world that had been shrinking. Using a wheelchair involves different muscle groups and while I continue trudging on the treadmill, pressing on the leg press and twisting on the torso twister I also work my upper body muscles to enable me self propel my wheelchair. When my legs really started fading a few years ago my neuro told me that there are much worse things than losing one’s mobility and he was absolutely correct. A friend of ours says that walking is over rated and like me she insists on walking sometimes and uses a wheelchair on others.

Posture is so very important for all of us. My sister Rose, the marathon runner, passed on a nugget of wisdom one day; you can’t run if you can’t walk and you can’t walk if you can’t stand. I can’t walk well anyway but since I started concentrating on my posture I have noticed a small improvement in my walking. Our parents were correct all those years ago when they told us not to slouch.

So the moral of the story is don’t slouch, exercise to your ability and keep a positive frame of mind and remember that if you are fighting a battle that you cannot win there will be small victories to be won along the way and these small victories make it all worthwhile.

Categories: Just thoughts | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The gym, a necessary evil

  1. Hey Declan good advice. I usually go to the gym 3 times a week but after a long trip it just kills me to restart my routine. Just got to force myself to do it

    • Declan Groeger

      Yup. 3 weeks to get into a good habit but only 3 days to get out of it. Unfair.

      • I’ve been going to the gym 16 years now and that is the first time I have heard that. Learn something new every time.

  2. Declan Groeger

    Thanks Willeke. It is a major decision to start using a wheelchair but when the body is ready you will know. Walking uses so much energy that could be used for other more beneficial things. Energy wastage should be outlawed.

  3. Billie

    Glad to hear the fellow blogger quote, Declan! In all honesty, when I wrote that blog post, it was with you in mind first and foremost, and then 2 other friends as well. It’s normal for people to think of worst-case scenarios first, but I’ve heard a lot of people say their wheelchair gave them back their lives. If you can combine it with sessions in the gym, then I want to sign up for that. Love your last paragraph, so honest and optimistic!

  4. Pingback: The gym, a necessary evil | Accessibility Reports

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

anansi2050

Deep Thoughts and Ideas

@ODCoalition

Improve Access to Ontario Health Services

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Dinosaurs, Donkeys and MS

My life: teaching, acting and living with MS

Multiple experienceS

a day in the life with multiple sclerosis

Tripping Through Treacle

Stumbling my way through life with Multiple Sclerosis

mummy2boys

Single mummy to boys with MS

BizViz Net

Welcome to the Biz Viz Network, an on-line community for blind and VI business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs

playlifeoutloud

one day it'll all make sense.

Two Rooms Plus Utilities

Written from the heart, this is the unadulterated truth of live with multiple chronic illnesses and being housebound. My life open for you to follow. Please join me

dreaming the questions

Am I a bird that skims the clouds along, or am I a wild storm or a great song? - R.M. Rilke

BBHwithMS

******************************* BBH - BOOBS BOOTS & HAIR **************************** Inappropriate MMJ Momma - Living With Multiple Sclerosis and Finding The Reasons to Laugh and Smile

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Ashley's Life with Multiple Sclerosis

"Through every dark night, there is a brighter day." -Tupac

Tripility

Tripility is a user driven travel resource, giving disabled people, those with dietary requirements or families of children the informed choice for their trip.

